Shelton Lonberg-Holm Rosaly Resounder

Shelton / Lonberg-Holm / Rosaly : Resounder

Resounder is a hybrid improvised / electroacoustic album by Aram Shelton, Fred Lonberg-Holm and Frank Rosaly. Long time collaborators through the Chicago sextet Fast Citizens (Delmark), this album is a clear departure from their previous work together. Completely improvised, the acoustic material was recorded in a half day recording session in Chicago.  In November of that year, Shelton processed certain parts of the tracks, with the intent of enhancing the material, as opposed to covering up or masking it, while keeping an ear towards the musicality of the performance by the players.

CD in an LP-style Sleeve. SSM-015. 

Contact us if you want a copy.

Download available at Bandcamp.

“the music is often mesmerizing and in flux, shimmering or shifting through carefully crafted layers.. “ – Downtown Music Gallery

The processing is on only certain instruments at a time, though the live recording setup dictated that some sounds were captured in more than one players microphone, so there is some sharing of processing at times.

“Through the act of applying processing – reflecting, splitting, refracting, turning inward, extending – to the improvisations, I came upon sounds that are more dream like; a fading memory of what happened, and more fantastical.  Processes are not used to cover up existing material, but at chosen moments to enhance and bring focus to the acoustic sounds, with an overlying hope of symbiosis. It turns out that we as improvisers were listening acutely for what was not there, but now is.” – Aram Shelton

Aram Shelton: alto saxophone & processing
Fred Lonberg-Holm: cello, guitar and electronics
Frank Rosaly: drums and percussion

Resounder features eight tracks recorded in June of 2014 at MINBAL in Chicago by Benjamin Balcom. Mixed by Aram Shelton. Mastered by the Norman Conquest.

Fading Memory 7:15
No Cover 10:43
The Listening Point 4:05
Not There 2:30
Bring Focus 10:09
Hope of Symbioses 8:16
Painted Corners 3:32
Half Day 9:36

Total Time: 56:02

The full album is available for download at Bandcamp.

Aram Shelton is an improviser and composer. He performs on saxophone, clarinets, and live electronics. Based in Oakland, California, his music and playing is represented by his electroacoustic solo project Tonal Masher, the Broken Trap Ensemble (Astral Spirits), and Ton Trio II (Singlespeed). He is connected to Chicago through the cooperative sextet Fast Citizens (Delmark), and Jason Adasiewicz’ Rolldown (Cuneiform). He has recently performed with the ROVA saxophone quartet, Timothy Daisy, James Falzone, Owen Stewart-Robertson, Carl Ludwig Hübsch, Henry Kaiser, and Sharp & Fine Dance.

Chicago based cellist Fred Lonberg-Holm has played and studied music in a variety of situations from the Juilliard School to the gutter. A former student of Anthony Braxton, Morton Feldman, Bunita Marcus and Pauline Oliveros, his primary projects are his Valentine Trio and The Lightbox Orchestra. He is also a member of a number of ongoing collective projects (The Boxhead Ensemble, The Friction Brothers, The Flatlands Collective, the Fast Citizens) as well as participating in numerous one off “ad-hoc” or in frequently convening ensembles. He has played in groups led by Joe McPhee, Peter Brotzmann, and Ken Vandermark. Improvisors he has worked with include Jim Baker, John Butcher, Wilbert DeJoode, Axel Doerner, Mats Gustafsson, Charlotte Hug, Glenn Kotche, Peter Kowald, Nicole Mitchell, Torsten Muller, Jim O’Rourke, Jeff Parker, David Stakenas, Ben Vida, and Michael Zerang.

Frank Rosaly is a drummer and composer living in Chicago who is currently active in many projects in Chicago and in Europe. Some groups include Bobby Bradford/Frode Gjerstad Quartet, Matana Robert’s Chicago Project, The Rempis Percussion Quartet, Ingebrigt Haker-Flaten Quintet, Scorch Trio, Nicole Mitchell Ice Crystal Quartet, Jason Stein Quartet, Jeff Parker/Nels Cline Quartet, Josh Abrams’ Natural Information Society, Fred Lonberg-Holm’s Valentine Trio, Keefe Jackson’s Project Project, The Fast Citizens, The Jeb Bishop Trio, Jason Adasiewicz’s Rolldown, Jorrit Dijkstra’s Flatlands Collective, Chicago Lucern Exchange, Hearts and Minds, Slow Cycle, Outskirts, Darren Johnston’s Chicago Quintet, Anchor and others.